Summer Write-In

I’ve been on somewhat of a HIATUS over the last few months trying to sort out where I want to go with the book while sifting through some tougher life decisions. I also hit a sort of content-wall, where I felt as if everything that I was trying to write felt forced. Well, thankfully that funk is starting to fade and I’m getting back into a good groove. So prepare for a month of pure content.

Right now I’m writing nearly full-time, but I miss the fast paced (personal) production time of NaNoWriMo. 50,000 words wasn’t a ton, but during the month of November I was religiously updating social media, writing for the blog, and making amazing progress on the book. So I’ve decided to do something similar.

Right now.

For the months of June and July, I’ve set a goal of 150,000 words for myself. The Book of Illiyan is making amazing progress, and I only want to push it further. I’m sitting on piles upon piles of notes—notebooks, Word documents, and napkins filled with short stories. I’ve drawn out maps and doodled characters. Hell, I have a rough timeline of the story that spans out across a couple thousand years. But I still have so much more to do before I can officially start looking at publishing.

I’m calling the month my Summer Write-In. Unlike NaNoWriMo, I’m not setting up a schedule for the blog ahead of time, but rather a promise to put out some amazing content along the way. Expect inspiration blasts, updates, and short stories throughout the month. We’ve even got E3 coming up, so it’s gearing up to be a pretty crazy couple of weeks.

Throughout this month and next it is also a personal goal of mine to revitalize the blog. I apologize for the lack of content over the past few months, but expect all of that to change. I’m hoping that the Write-In really pushes my work to the next level, and that the blog is also pulled into that next phase.

Let’s get writing.

Posted by

Indigo is a writer living out of Seattle. She plays a lot of video games.

Leave a Reply

