NaNoWriMo Update (Week 3)

How time flies! As of today, we’re a little over halfway through NaNoWriMo 2016.

This is going to be a short update, because I want to get back to actually writing!

I’m beyond excited about this piece and where it’s going. I’m at about 30k words, and that’s not counting the tons of pages of notes that I’m *not* putting toward the word count. With those included, I’m probably well over the goal of 50k. On top of that, this is all after I decided to restart NaNoWriMo, as I wasn’t happy the piece I initially started with.

This week, especially after last, has been fairly anticlimactic (and you know what, I’m totally fine with that!) I’ve not only been writing for NaNoWriMo, but also working on another professional project and drafting some pieces of GeekGirlCon’s blog.

While I’m not sharing too much about the story itself for now, as I plan on seeking publishing down the road when I’ve put together a better draft, I’ll release a short description and working title once I’ve hit 50k as a part of the “NaNoWriMo Retrospective” blog post. I don’t know for certain if I’ll post any of the actual novel yet, but we’ll see.

While the week has been fairly calm, I’ve thought a lot about the novel’s length: 50k really isn’t a ton, at all, actually. I’m expecting that once the project is said and done, it’ll be double that in length. At a minimum. Right now, I think that the final draft will be at least 400 pages, once I’ve written everything that I want to include. On top of that, I’ve already started plotting the story to span at least three novels (eek!)

But, I shouldn’t get *too* far ahead of myself. I have to finish the darn thing first!

So far, I’ve written the whole thing in third person (rather, a close third person, sort of). Once I’ve finished 50k for NaNoWriMo, and flesh out the in-between parts of the plot that much  more, I think I’m going to go back and rewrite it in first person when I start the second draft. I like where the story is going, but really think I could establish a better connection if the reader can actually hear what Illie, my main character’s nick name (that I call her, at least), is thinking. The act of thinking or pondering plays a significant role in the story (spoilers, maybe?)

It’s got a long way to, and I think I can realistically expect to finish it in three months (not counting publisher/agent edits if I get it that far).

For inspiration this week, I’ve been looking to two of my favorite modern YA authors, Sarah J Maas and Kristin Cashore. I’ve also been skimming through Outlander, one of my all time favorites. I haven’t read it since it was much younger, maybe even since high school, but now that I’m out of college and writing more or less full-time, I’m appreciative of the beauty of Gabaldon’s simplistic style.

At the end of the day, I am very excited and very happy with where this is going.

Looking to the future: I may put together more than one blog post next week, one on NaNoWriMo and another nostalgia piece about *Video Games and the Holidays*. This is totally dependent on time, as this is the first year I’m living close to my parents since graduating and moving to WA, so they are my priority.

Until then, cheers!

Posted by

Indigo is a writer living out of Seattle. She plays a lot of video games.

One thought on “NaNoWriMo Update (Week 3)

Leave a Reply

