Preparing for NaNoWriMo

Chrysanthemum Frowns is by far the most viewed content that I’ve posted on the blog to date, and some of you may have noticed that I recently took it all down. After a sudden revelation earlier in the month, I’ve decided to rework the piece into a novel — and what’s coming up in a matter of days? That’s right my fellow literature harpies, NaNoWriMo 2016 commences this upcoming Tuesday!

NaNoWriMo, or National Novel Writing Month for those unfamiliar, is fairly self explanatory. During the month of November students of all ages, authors, amateaurs, and professionals alike will be dedicating a chunk of their time to produce a novel that is at least 50,000 words in length. That’s about 1,700 a day, and I am participating this year!

I’ve wanted to rework Chrysanthemum Frowns since I defended it for honors in the spring of 2015, but after relocating to the Seattle area earlier this year I’ve been busy at work piecing together another large writing project, applying for jobs, and working with GeekGirlCon. Although I’m a writer full-time, NaNoWriMo is a great opportunity to put some serious, undisputed time into CF.

·

Blog Schedule

I’ll be documenting the process here on the blog, at least once per week. Not just focusing on the word count, I’ll be elaborating on the time it takes, blocks, inspirations, and thoughts that come along the way. It’ll be a journal of sorts.

I’ll be following this schedule, give or take a few changes (which will be announced on Twitter need-be):

Week 1:

Friday, November 4th  ·  Recap of the First Week

Week 2:

Friday, November 11th  ·  Process Update

Week 3:

Friday, November 18th  ·  Process Update

Week 4:

Second Week of December  ·  Retrospective & Project Announcement

For easier access, I’ve set up a temporary page dedicated for all things related to NaNoWriMo on the blog. You’ll be able to find links to all of the posts as they go live, etc. I’ll be taking it down late December, or early 2017 — but the actual posts will stay up.

·

Social Media

NaNoWriMo Participant Page  ·  My new participant page! Here you can check my word count, and other more “official” updates and statistics about the actual piece.

Twitter  ·  Using the hashtag #NaNoWriMo2016, I’ll be documenting my experiences on a more daily basis.

Instagram  ·  For fun, I’ll post pictures of my process throughout the month. I’m a very… intent notetaker, so it’ll be fun to juxtapose what my workspace looks like.

·

For the time being, I will not be posting the actual fiction here on the blog since I plan on pursing publishing long term. If you’re interested in reading excerpts or seeing the original piece as it was submitted for my thesis, feel free to reach out (but please note that this will be limited to business inquires for now, for my own safety).

For those of you who follow to read my gaming-related content, stay tuned! Post NaNoWriMo, I’ll be focusing on new titles throughout the month of December. But, if you’re interested in keeping up with my fiction process, you’re bound to find something interesting! Gaming is a direct inspiration to my writing, as I discussed when I wrote about Zelda earlier this summer, so it’ll come up periodically.

Otherwise, I look forward to getting started next week.

Cheers!

 

Image(s): Source

Posted by

Indigo is a writer living out of Seattle. She plays a lot of video games.

Leave a Reply

